Initiation

The basics of Lam Rim explain the gradual development of Boddhichitta are relatively easy for a student to understand. However, the difficulties usually arise in the consistent implementation of the intentions, namely when the theory should be put into practice. For example, if you are focused on being consciously open and friendly and all these efforts being exploited as weaknesses, the good motivation can quickly culminate in frustration.

The development of a deep intrinsic compassion is a lengthy process that requires a lot of time and mental work. Usually, the examination of a subject takes many years or, according to Buddhist beliefs, several lives. The reason for our slow development is seen in our conventional thinking and egocentric experience, which throws us out of balance again and again.

In order to meet these challenges, different practice methods or yoga have proven to be successful, which have been combined into practice sets called Tantras. A tantra describes the exercises contained in the exercises and assigns them to a practice for the practitioner.

The core of many Tantras is the so-called Deity-Yoga, which is based on the visualization of an ideal parallel reality, which is free from all blemishes and concepts of conventional reality and is called Mandala (Sanskrit: circle). In this meditation, one’s own mind is visualized as a clearly defined Buddha manifestation, which is endowed with various attributes and special qualities. All aspects of this meditation exercise have a symbolic meaning, which reminds the practitioner of the different basic thoughts to be realized during the exercise.

Image of the tare
tare

For example, the green goddess Tara stands for:

the female principle, which is a symbol of wisdom in Buddhism
All-encompassing love, because of its peaceful appearance
Speed, symbolized by the colour green, which symbolises the air element
Giving, through the posture of her right hand
teachings, through the posture of the left hand
Immaculate from conventional concepts, completely sour when it blossoms due to its seat on a lotus flower, which grows out of the swamp.

The exercises have been designed to include all the senses and thus facilitate immersion in this ideal parallel reality.

Such a meditation practice should be practised daily in order to achieve progress. It is similar to an instrument you want to master: it takes a lot of practice and perseverance in dealing with your own concepts, which have to be cognitively rearranged over long distances.

The introduction to tantric meditations must always be done by a competent and experienced meditation master, who has been entrusted with the mandala himself, who has studied it extensively and practiced it decisively. If one has participated in an initiation into a tantra, there is a permanent teacher-student relationship with the introductory meditation master, whereby the master will guide the practitioner in the meditation practice in the future. This could be compared to an experienced coach in sport, whereby this relationship and its importance as a direct access to the teachings of Buddha himself is seen as an important basis for meditation. For this reason, the teacher is given great respect.

It is therefore crucial from the point of view of an practitioner that the teacher is carefully examined before being asked for an initiation.

Upcoming Events

  • There were no results found.

Events List Navigation

Initiation

Die Grundlagen der Lam Rim erklären die stufenweisen Entwicklung von Boddhichitta sind einem Studierenden relativ leicht zugänglich und verständlich. Die Schwierigkeiten kommen jedoch üblicherweise in der konsequenten Umsetzung der Vorsätze, nämlich dann, wenn die Theorie in die Tat umgesetzt werden sollte. Wenn man sich beispielsweise darauf konzentriert sein, bewusst offen und freundlich zu sein und alle diese Bemühungen als Schwäche ausgebeutet werden, kann die gute Motivation schnell in Frustration gipfeln.

Die Entwicklung eines tiefen intrinsischen Mitgefühls ist ein langwieriger Prozess, der viel Zeit und geistige Arbeit erfordert. Üblicherweise dauert die Auseinandersetzung mit einem Thema viele Jahre oder nach der buddhistischen Auffassung sogar mehrere Leben. Der Grund für unsere langsame Entwicklung wird in unserem konventionellen Denken und egozentrierten Erleben gesehen, das uns immer wieder aus der Balance wirft.

Um diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen, haben sich verschiedene Übungsmethoden oder Yogas als erfolgreich erwiesen, die in Übungssets zusammengefasst wurden, die ihrerseits als Tantras bezeichnet werden. Ein Tantra beschreibt die beinhalteten Übungen und ordnet sie zu einer Praxis für den Übenden.

Das Kernstück vieler Tantras bildet das sogenannte Gottheiten-Yoga das auf der Visualisation einer idealen Parallel-Realität beruht, die frei ist von allen Makeln und Konzepten der konventionellen Wirklichkeit und als Mandala (Sanskrit: Kreis) bezeichnet wird. Der eigene Geist wird in dieser Meditation als eine klar definierte Buddha Manifestation visualisiert, die mit verschiedenen Attributen und besondere Eigenschaften ausgestattet ist. Alle Aspekte dieser Meditationsübung haben eine symbolische Bedeutung, die den Übenden während der Übung an die verschiedenen zu verwirklichenden Grundgedanken erinnern.

Bild der Tara
Tara

So steht die grüne Göttin Tara zum Beispiel für:

  • das weibliche Prinzip, das im Buddhismus ein Symbol für die Weisheit ist
  • Allumfassende Liebe, aufgrund ihrer friedvollen Erscheinung
  • Schnelligkeit, symbolisiert durch die Farbe Grün, die das Luftelement symbolisiert
  • Geben, durch die Haltung ihrer rechten Hand
  • Lehren, durch die Haltung der linken Hand
  • Unbeflecktheit von konventionellen Konzepten, durch ihren Sitz auf einer Lotusblume, die zwar aus dem Sumpf wächst, komplett sauer ist wenn sie erblüht.

Die Übungen wurden so ausgestaltet, dass sie alle Sinne miteinbeziehen und dadurch die Immersion in diese ideale Parallel-Realität erleichtert.

Eine solche Meditationspraxis sollte täglich geübt werden, um Fortschritte zu erzielen. Es ist dabei ähnlich mit einem Instrument, das man meistern möchte: es braucht viel Übung und Ausdauer in der Auseinandersetzung mit den eigenen Konzepten, die über weite Strecken kognitiv neu eingeordnet werden müssen.

Die Einführung in tantrische Meditationen muss immer durch einen kompetenten erfahrenen Meditationsmeister erfolgen, dem das Mandala selbst übertragen wurde, der es ausführlich studiert und massgeblich praktiziert hat. Hat man an einer Einweihung in ein Tantra teilgenommen, besteht eine dauerhafte Lehrer-Schüler-Beziehung zum einführenden Meditationsmeister, wobei der Meister den Übenden künftig in der Meditationspraxis anleitet. Dies könnte am ehesten mit einem erfahrenen Coach im Sport verglichen werden, wobei diese Beziehung und ihre Bedeutung als direkter Zugang zu den Lehren Buddhas selbst als wichtige Meditationsgrundlage angesehen wird. Dem Lehrer wird aus diesem Grund grosser Respekt zuteil.

Entscheidend ist aus der Sicht eines Übenden ist deshalb die sorgfältige Prüfung des Lehrers bevor man ihn oder sie um eine Einweihung bittet.

Anstehende Veranstaltungen

  • Es wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden.

Veranstaltungen Listennavigation